Student of all things Brian!

Valentines Day 2010

I’m so excited about the approaching of Valentines Day!  Not just because of the day, but because it gives me an excuse to spend time blogging on my favorite topic…. my husband!  Over the next few postings, I’m planning to share some tid-bits of our story, which I think is quite unique & romantic!

But for today, I’ve been thinking about how knowing my spouse starts with me.

I was listening to a radio program this morning about the importance of always studying your spouse.  So I decided to give Brian a mini 10-question interview (a practice I intend to implement periodically, if I can think up enough questions!)

Q1:  What is your favorite article of clothing?
A1:
Shirts

Q2:  If you could travel anywhere in the US for vacation, where would you go and what would you do?
A2:  Martha’s Vineyard.  I’d eat a lot of seafood, walk the beach, and hang out.

Q3:  What skill would you like to be able to learn & do well?
A3:  play the piano

Q4:  What do you think is the key to romance in marriage?
A4:  listening.

Q5:  Tell me your favorite time of day…. if you could spend that time any way you choose, what would I find you doing?
A5:  Nighttime.  Going for a drive or curled up in front of the fireplace writing.

Q6:  Name one dream adventure you would like us to have together?  (pretend there are no limitations to achieving this adventure)
A6:  Traveling to Outer Space.

-Cassie interrupts:  “Okay… nevermind… pretend there are limitations…. what would be one dream adventure you would like us to have together?”
A6-b: I don’t know…. um…. raise a kid.

Q7:  What has been a memorable gift you’ve given?
A7:  I had my dad’s old radio air-checks digitized & gave them to him.

Q8:  If I could prepare you any meal, what could I make you that would delight your palate?
A8:  lobster
(note to self…. remember to ask if it would delight his palate just as much if it was already dead when I bought it…)

Q9:  What do you wish you had more time to do?
A9:  write!

Q10:  What was your favorite kids TV show? (not adult shows you watched as a kid – but a show for kids)
A10:  Knight Rider

(this was followed by discussion of whether Knight Rider qualifies as a kids show.  After agreeing to disagree, he said):  I used to like a show called Today’s Special.

NOW FOR THE FUN PART…

I decided it would be fun – for me, if not for him – to ask him the questions again but for him to answer what he THINKS I would say…

Q1:  What is my favorite article of clothing?
Brian says:  Socks
Cassie says: Socks  (click here to see pictures of my awesome socks)

Q2:  If I could travel anywhere in the US for vacation, where would I go and what would you do?
Brian says:  You’d go to Alaska & show me the pretty sites.
Cassie says:   I’d go to Alaska and photograph, go kayaking thru Prince William Sound & Glacier Bay, get blue ice from a glacier, take the train to Denali, and pan for some gold.

Q3:  What skill would I like to be able to learn & do well?
Brian says:  Anything I do that you don’t help enough with.
Cassie says:  (haha… his answer looks worse than it was intended)  Play the piano well or speak fluent French.

Q4:  What do I think is the key to romance in marriage?
Brian says:  Creativity & thought
Cassie says:   Be a student of your spouse.  And seek fun new experiences together.

Q5:  Tell me my favorite time of day…. if I could spend that time any way I choose, what would you find me doing?
Brian says:  Early Morning.  Having devotions.
Cassie says:  Morning (though I LOVE sleep). Reading.

Q6:  Name one dream adventure I would like us to have together?  (pretend there are no limitations to achieving this adventure)
Brian says:  Alaska.
Cassie says:   (his answer also true)   Zip-line tour through the rainforest or jungle – the higher the better.

Q7:  What has been a memorable gift I’ve given?
Brian says:  The letters you gave me on my birthday.
Cassie says:  Yeah.  That was definitely memorable.  (more to come in another post about what he’s referring to!)

Q8:  If you could prepare me any meal, what could you make me that would delight my palate?
Brian says:  Pretty much anything homemade, you like. You’re pretty easy-pleasey.
Cassie says:  I agree w/ Brian.  It’s more the act of being served by my husband than the food itself.

Q9:  What do you wish you had more time to do?
Brian says:  Fun or not fun? (um… both)  ….more time for reading & writing, but you wish you had more time to take care of stuff around the house.
Cassie says: Reading, writing, creative anything (drawing, photography, knitting…).

Q10:  What was your favorite kids TV show? (not adult shows you watched as a kid – but a show for kids)
Brian says:  Um…. I don’t know?????? Captain Kangaroo????
Cassie says:  Muppet Babies or the old Little Rascals re-runs.

Soooo…. guess I better Start with Me and plan a nice trip to Martha’s Vineyard where we eat home-cooked lobster and walk on the beach, each wearing one of Brian’s shirts.  I’ll rent an afternoon piano studio where we’ll learn a simple version of “Für Elise” before heading out on a nighttime drive where we spend time listening to one another and trying to make mental note of possible memorable gifts to give in the future based on what is said.  We go to our hotel and watch episodes of Knight Rider before spending time making a kid to raise.  Before sleep, I promise to give him the entire following day for him to write in front of the fireplace… and eat more seafood.

Sounds like a plan.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Student of all things Brian!

  1. Dad Jerry says:

    Fantastic. Not sure Mom and I would do as well on comparing answers. You guys are fabulous. However, I would have believed taking Mom and Dad with you to Alaska and Martha Vineyard would have entered the picture. Ha Ha.
    Love you both

    • cassiebaker says:

      I’ll bet you & mom would be surprised at your answers 🙂 After being just a few years shy of 50 years married, you can probably do pretty well on guessing each other’s answers… and if not, well, time to ask the questions! haha!
      I’d love to have you & mom join us in Martha’s Vineyard & Alaska. Brian will want to do more relaxing & I’ll need you for doing more adventuring! Yea!

  2. Janet Sutton says:

    What a fabulous idea this is!!! As I have told you before, I am SO happy that you and Brain found each other. Although you were never expecting it, moving from one coast to the other, you found your knight in shining armor and Brian found his beautiful princess.

  3. Kristi Gross says:

    What an awesome idea! I think it’s great when you learn something new about somebody – especially your husband. I think I just might have to try it on James this weekend and see what new things we learn about each other. I’m so happy for you and Brian and that you have each other. You are definitely two special people and make a wonderful couple!

    • cassiebaker says:

      Let me know how it goes Kristi – definitely interview James, I’ll bet you’ll do great! 🙂 I’m happy for you & James too – I wish we were in the same city to do couples things together!

Leave a comment